In case you get in an auto accident in Illinois, it is important that you act responsibly and remember that you should never leave the scene of the collision.
Here’s a guide that will ensure you are prepared to act according to the law of the State if you are ever involved in an accident:
Do not leave the accident scene
You should stay at the accident scene to not only ensure that everyone is safe but also because leaving can get you charged with a fine of $25000, up to 3 years of prison time and can also result in the suspension of your driver’s license.
Pull over carefully after the accident and evaluate the scene. If anyone is injured and requires assistance, call for medical help and inform 911 to report any casualties.
Report the incident to the local police or sheriff even if no one got injured.
Provide your information to the other party involved
In Illinois, it is required that you provide certain information to the other parties involved in the accident. Similarly, all the passengers, pedestrians and motorists related to the accident are supposed to exchange information with you as well. It can also prove to be helpful to ask any witnesses for information because you might require them to testify.
The information you should exchange includes:
- Contact details
- Driver license number
- License plate number of the automobiles involved
- Auto insurance information for the drivers involved
Also, take photographs of the scene if possible.
Reporting the Accident to the Illinois Department of Transportation
Besides reporting the accident to the local authorities, some types of accidents are supposed to be reported to Illinois DOT. It is important that you submit a complete Traffic Crash Report in the 10 days following the accident if the following is true:
- 1. The accident resulted in casualties such as injury or death
- 2. The accident caused damage to property in excess of $1,500
Failing to report an accident, to the Illinois Department of Transportation, and not meeting these requirements may result in a fine of $2500 or up to one year in jail.
The report is supposed to have comprehensive and updated information about your insurance coverage. This information will get cross-checked with the company providing the insurance. You may be charged with additional penalties if you did not have liability insurance at the time of the accident.
It is important that you provide accurate information in the Motorist Crash Report as purposely putting in wrong information can result in imprisonment for 30 days and a fine of $500.
Following these steps, especially if you are innocent, will ensure you are in a position of advantage. However, it is important that you seek an experienced auto accident lawyer to represent you. Contact Fisk & Monteleone LTD. today at 815-962-0044 to schedule a free case consultation.