Being involved in a hit-and-run accident is a traumatic and painful experience. In Illinois, drivers involved in accidents must stop and exchange information with the other parties involved. However, hit-and-run accidents occur when a driver flees the scene without providing the necessary information. If you are in such a situation, knowing the steps to… Read more »
Posts Tagged: hit and run
Largely depending on the nature of the accident, hit and run is usually a felony in Illinois. All drivers, whether they were at fault for the accident, have a responsibility to stop at the first safe location, wait for emergency responders to arrive, and render aid if possible. Unfortunately for victims, police officers close fewer… Read more »
By the numbers, the Prairie State has one of the highest percentages of uninsured drivers in the country. Uninsured motorists are more likely to flee accident scenes than any other driver because they lack insurance. However, fewer than 10 percent of hit-and-run motorists are successfully prosecuted in criminal court. That low figure is mostly due… Read more »
Strictly by the book, the penalty for leaving the scene of an accident in Prairie State is not too harsh. Violators face a maximum of one year in jail. Additionally, if the defendant caused more than $1,000 in damage, or caused a serious injury, the state will suspend the person’s drivers’ license. However, mostly because… Read more »
When a person is involved in an auto accident, it generally triggers the fight-or-flight response. If you have done something wrong, it is likely that your gut will tell you to leave the scene and hope that no one sees you or notices your license plate number. Even if you were backing from a parking… Read more »
Contact us today for a free, no obligation consultation!